Mango, Mom’s style


 
My Mom used to make this every Ramadhan. She simply called it Es Buah (fruit cocktail). But in fact, she never made it with any other fruits. It was always only mango. At times, she threw in some kolang-kaling (sugar palm fruit) only because I asked her to. And it was by far the best refreshment I’ve ever had.
 
I never made this on my own, so I’m not sure if this is as good as my Mom’s (I was fasting when I made this, took a picture and posted). Here is how she did it:
 
Ingredients:

  • Ripe mango (Harum Manis)
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Lemon

Instruction:

  1. Make the syrup: Boil some water, add sugar, stir until it dissolves. Let cool.
  2. Cut the mango into cubes. Put them in a serving bowl.
  3. Pour the syrup on cubed mango. Cut the lemon and squeeze it onto the fruits.
     
    (At this point, I’m a little confused. I mean, it has to be stirred for the lemon to blend well, doesn’t it? But guess what, my Mom never stirred it. And the taste was always perfect.)
     
  4. Keep it referigerated until serving time. Throw in some ice cubes when serving.

That was all, my friend, the original recipe.

Now I modified it a little bit. Threw in a few cloves to the syrup (boiled it together with the water to bring out the clovy smell), substitute honey for half of the sugar, and lime for the lemon, availability-wise (I still prefer lemon, though).

Well, I better stop writing. Deadline, deadline….

8 thoughts on “Mango, Mom’s style”

  1. Pas banget lagi cari alternatif lain buat hidangan puasa, eeh dapet resep ini. Saya udah coba resepnya Mbak Riana, trully best refreshment I’ve ever had. Saya coba yang original recipe Mamanya Mbak Riana. Many thanks ya Mbak.

    Sama-sama. Aku udah main ke dapurmu, yummy…
    Emang enakan resep mamahku daripada yang aku modified deh😀
    Selamat berbuka puwasa —– Riana

  2. wheiii…….. pertapaan sudah selese ato lagi break neehhh???
    hmmm… sekarang udah musim mangga lagi kayaknya ya, mau nyoba aaakkhhh….. bosen ama kolak neh

    Hihihi… lagi bosen kerjaaa.. Akhirnya motret tajil aja deh😀
    Pake lemon yah, kalo pake jeruk nipis kurang wangi.. —– Riana

  3. Fruit cocktails probably in each kitchen cooked at ramadan time as refreshment and light sweet. With Mangop I don’t know it. In the turkish kitchen most frequently one uses with raisins, plums, apricots..etc. Thanks to your mother for this prescription. Riana, I wishes you a blessed ramadan.

    With love
    G.

  4. Cihuy…..
    Ada postingan baru😉
    Enak banget pastinya dessert yang satu ini
    Sayangnya musim mangga sudah lewat di Mandalay😦
    Kira-kira bisa diganti buah apa ya, Ri ?

    Hm, good question. Diganti apa ya? *loh, malah nanya* —-Riana

Leave a Reply

