Monthly Mingle #5: Take Two!

Preparing to Cook
 
I’d been wanting to participate on this month’s Monthly Mingle hosted by Meeta, but something always got in my way.
 
I bought the sage, zucchini, eggplant, took a picture, then I made Zucchini and Eggplant Salad (recipe by Santap Magazine). But it’s gone before I had a chance to take a photo! I never knew my hubby loved the dish that much. As far as I know he hates purple eggplants! So you see, this was totally unexpected.
 
I already put aside the idea of participating when I was cooking this dish the other night, when I realized I just substituted the cucumber with zucchini. So I thought, what the heck, let’s try throwing a little bit sage in it! Let’s see how the dish turn out, then I can make it as my entry for Monthly Mingle #5.
 
This is an Indonesian common stir-fry dish of carrot, cucumber — which in this case I replaced with zucchini–, small chillies and shallots, spiced with ground fresh turmeric, candle nuts, ginger, shallot and garlic, enhanced by vinegar and sugar. We usually call it “Acar Kuning“, means “Yellow Pickles“. It doesn’t look like a ‘pickle’ to you, I know. But what am I gonna do, I didn’t name it in the first place🙂 But it does have that tangy-sweet taste you usually found in regular pickles.
 
Well, the sage, I’ve got to say, softened the spices a little bit. I also added black pepper to match with the sage. There were some corns in my fridge, so I threw them in as well. When my sister came by that night, her maid frowned,“What did you throw in this yellow pickles?”
“Any vegetables I had in my fridge,” which was true. If I had some cauliflowers I probably would have thrown them in too.
 
About the photo, not a very good shot though. I took it in a hurry that night, while it’s still in the wok, before the dish disappeared again into our tummies.
 
Thanks, Meeta, for hosting the event!
 
Acar Kuning
 
Yellow Pickles Stir Fry (Acar Kuning)
Modified from late Inong’s recipe
 
1 Carrot, cut julienned
1 Zucchini or cucumber, cut julienned
10 small chillies (cabe rawit)
10 shallots
Some corns, if you like
1 lemon grass, crush the bottom
1 tsp vinegar or to taste
100 ml water
Cooking oil for stir-frying
 
Ground these fresh spices into a paste:
4 garlics
2 shallots
1 tsp pepper or blackpepper
2 cm ginger
4 cm turmeric
4 candle nuts (roasted will be better)
2 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
 
Let’s stir-frying:

  1. Heat a little oil in a wok. Stir in the ground spice paste, sautee until fragrant.
  2. Add lemon grass, vinegar, and water. Stir well.
  3. Stir in the vegetables (carrot, zucchini, small chillies, shalot, corn), cook until tender.

12 thoughts on “Monthly Mingle #5: Take Two!”

  1. waaaaaaa…ini boleh dibilang gergolong masakan jadul ga sih mbak…duluuuuu emakku sering bikin…kalo di bangka tepatnya mentok (tempat asalku) sayur acar kuning ini suka keluar kandang di tempat2 kondangan…ntah knapa…mgkn seger2 ngimbangin berlimpah ruahnya makanan berserat kali ya…bikin aaaaah…

  2. Wah, ini rasanya enak dan seger bgt. Inget buatan ibuku juga🙂 …Nyam, nyam…(cuma bisa komentar, gak bisa sharing soal masakan😉

  3. mba zuchini disini umumnya (produk lokal) warna nya ijo muda, malah kebalikan dengan timun… disini timunya warna ijo tua kek zuchini di foto ini🙂
    btw.. iya sisa in ya mba bukunya pake anda tangan asEli😀 makasiii…

Leave a Reply

