Chocolate Coffee Cake

Chocolate Coffee Cake in an Afternoon

I baked these this afternoon. It was the easiest coffee cake I’ve ever made. But then again, I rarely whipped up a coffee cake🙂

Coffee cake is not a coffee flavored cake, mind you. It is a simple cake intended to be served in afternoon coffee time, or in my case, tea time. Therefore, it boasts some specific characters:

  • a single layer cake – short, looks more like a bar
  • doesn’t necessarily have coffee in it
  • quick and easy to prepare, you know, to catch up the afternoon sky before it gets dark🙂

Now, this one might not boast the best texture in the world or a mind blowing chocolate flavor. It is dense like a fruitcake and it was a regular chocolatey burst. But hell, it’s the easiest chocolate nibble to make in half an hour, about 35 minutes in the oven, and.. voila! You got yourself a nice companion, beside your tea, to color your afternoon happy.

O yeah, you don’t have to take out your electric mixer. All the tools you need are a bowl, a whisk or spatula, and measuring cups. You don’t even have to sift anything.

The recipe is actually my foolproof PennyLane Brownies, but without beating with electric mixer. You just whisk the eggs and sugar, add the rest of the ingredients, then bake. But here’s the catch: replace the regular chocolate chips with cappuccino or coffee flavored chocolate chips. I used Elmer Cappuccino Chocolate Compound chopped into chunks and it was just perfect. The zing of coffee you need on top of your simple chocolate cake. Happy day.

Another thing, I ran out of oil. I only had about 1/4 cup of it, what did I do? Being a crazy inventor I am, I filled it up with warm water. So I got about 1/4 cup of oil and 3/4 cup of warm water, add them all into my batter and the world didn’t end. Does it have to be warm? Honestly, I don’t know. I saw Nigella used boiling water all the time when whipping up her cake batter, so I just followed her step without caution. I’ll look up the scientific explanation later, it can wait. But for now, these sweet squares were all I care. With American Idol was about to begin, can you care about anything else?

Dark Stack

Chocolate Coffee Cake
 
Ingredients:
4 eggs
2 cups castor sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 c plain flour
1 cup vegetable oil, or you can follow my adventurous step, replacing some of the oil with warm water🙂
1/2 cup cappuccino chocolate, chopped into chunks for the topping
 
How-To:

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degree celcius. Prepare a 24x24x 4 cm cake tin, line them with baking paper.
  2. Whisk together the eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla. Add cocoa powder and flour, stir. Pour the oil –or, oil+warm water–, stir well.
  3. Pour the batter into the tin, sprinkle the top with cappuccino chocolate chunks. Bake for about 35-40 minutes.

Enjoy surenjoy.

A Very Coffee Afternoon

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Coffee Cake”

  1. can we replace cocoa powder with dark choco bar? if can, please kindly advise the measurement.

    thnaks,

    as far as i know, melted dark choco bar = cocoa powder + oil. the measurement is cocoa powder:oil = 1:3. So let’s do the math.
    3/4 cocoa powder + 1 cup vegetable oil = 1 3/4 melted dark choco bar.
    just chopped your choco bar, measure it about 2 cups, melt it, then measure it 1 3/4 cup. I think you’re good to go🙂
    ——-Riana

Leave a Reply

